FIM Enel MotoE World Championship

Since 2019, electric motorcycle races have also been held as part of the MotoGP program under the name "FIM Enel MotoE World Cup". In October 2022, MotoE received official world championship status from the FIM - the international governing body for motorcycles - and has since been called the "FIM Enel MotoE World Championship".

The first MotoE race took place on July 7, 2019, at the German Motorcycle Grand Prix at Sachsenring. Twelve teams with identical electric motorcycles produced by the Italian company Energica competed in the championship. From the fifth season (2023), all bikes will be manufactured by Ducati. Championship races are held as sprint races, so a World Cup race usually lasts only around 15 minutes.

In the first years of MotoE, some well-known motorcycle racers participated in the championship, including multiple Grand Prix winners Sete Gibernau, Bradley Smith, and Randy de Puniet. The title in the first MotoE season went to Gresini rider Matteo Ferrari. The following year, Spaniard Jordi Torres won, defending his crown in the 2021 season. In 2022, Dominique Aegerter secured the title. Since the 2023 season MotoE has become a world championship with the initial title won by Mattia Casadei.

World Championship Classification 2023

Pos. Rider Team Points
1 Mattia Casadei HP Pons Los40 260
2 Jordi Torres GasGas Aspar Team 217
3 Matteo Ferrari Felo Gresini MotoE 216
4 Hector Garzo Dynavolt Intact MotoE 215
5 Randy Krummenacher Dynavolt Intact MotoE 167
6 Nicholas Spinelli HP Pons Los40 150
7 Eric Granado LCR E-Team 139
8 Andrea Mantovani RNF MotoE Team 138
9 Kevon Zannoni RNF MotoE Team 130
10 Kevin Manfredi HP Pons Los40 117
11 Alessandro Zaccone Tech3 E-Racing 104
12 Miquel Pons LCR E-Team 98
13 Hikari Okubo Tech3 E-Racing 79
14 Tito Rabat Prettl Pramac MotoE 57
15 Mika Perez RNF MotoE Team 53
16 Alessio Finello Felo Gresini MotoE 35
17 Luca Salvadori Prettl Pramac MotoE 22
18 Maria Herrera GasGas Aspar Team 17
19 Oscar Gutierrez Prettl Pramac MotoE 15
20 Andrea Migno Prettl Pramac MotoE 2


Race Format

After the third season, MotoE revised its race format: Since 2022, a new event format has been put in place with two races per weekend. Qualifying is divided into two sessions. In the first qualifying session, the ten slowest riders from Free Practice compete against each other. The two fastest riders qualify for Q2, in addition to the eight fastest from Free Practice. Each qualifying session lasts just over ten minutes.

Unlike in the Grand Prix classes, there is no warm-up lap before the races (one race on Saturday and Sunday each). The sighting lap from the pit lane to the starting grid is the only opportunity for the riders to test their machines thoroughly before the race start. Due to the short race distance of usually less than ten laps, energy management does not play a role in MotoE.


In MotoE, all teams are provided with identical motorcycles. These were provided by Energica in Seasons 1-4 before switching to Ducati for the 2023 season.

The "Energica Ego Corsa" was powered by a 110 kW motor, making it similarly powerful to current Moto2 machines. They could reach top speeds of around 260 km/h. The Ego Corsa produced 220 Nm of torque, more than any current supersport bike with a combustion engine. Quick charging stations in the paddock could charge the electric motorcycles to 80% of their battery capacity in about 20 minutes, which according to the manufacturer was sufficient for a range of over 120 kilometers. Using an AC charger, the motorcycles could be fully charged in about three and a half hours with a 3 kW OBC (On Board Charger).

The first data on the "Ducati MotoE" was obtained using prototypes on the Mugello circuit. The 100 kW bikes also achieved top speeds of 275 km/h, but with a lower torque of 140 Nm. The second generation of electric motorcycles weighs 225 kg and is also equipped with Brembo brakes on the front and rear wheels. Although the manufacturers have not provided any specific information on the motor and inverter, the latter is said to have an efficiency of up to 99%.

Category Energica Ego Corsa (2019-2022) Ducati MotoE (since 2023)
Performance (max.)
110 kW
110 kW
Torque 220 Nm 140 Nm
Max. Speed 260 km/h 275 km/h
Acceleration 0-100 kph 3 s tba
Battery capacity > 20 kWh (lithium-ion) 18 kWh (lithium-ion)
Tyres Michelin Michelin
Brakes Brembo: 330 mm Brembo: 338 mm
Charging infrastructure DC fast-charging technology tba
Total weight tba 225 kg


Points System in MotoE

The points system in MotoE is identical to the one used in MotoGP. Therefore, the race winner receives 25 points, the runner-up 20, and the third-placed rider 16 points. The drivers finishing in 4th to 6th places are awarded 13, 11, and 10 points respectively. Afterwards, the points awarded per position decrease by one point. Thus, the 15th place receives the last point. Only the drivers finishing in 16th and 17th positions do not score any points.

MotoE Calendar

Starting from the fifth season (2023), the race calendar will be extended from 14 to 16 races. These will be held during eight race events, with one race taking place on both Saturday and Sunday.

Date Location Country Races / Test days
06-08/03/2022 Circuito de Jerez (Angel Nieto) Spain 3 Test days
03-05/04/2022 Circuito de Barcelona-Catalunya Spain 3 Test days
12-14/05/2022 Le Mans France 2 Races
09-11/06/2022 Autodromo Internazionale del Mugello Italy 2 Races
16-18/06/2022 Sachsenring Germany 2 Races
23-25/06/2022 TT Circuit Assen Netherlands 2 Races
04-06/08/2022 Silverstone Circuit United Kingdom 2 Races
18-20/08/2022 Red Bull Ring Spielberg Austria 2 Races
01-03/09/2022 Circuito de Barcelona - Catalunya Spain 2 Races
08-10/09/2022 Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli San Marino 2 Races

Riders & Teams in MotoE

In the 2023 season, Matteo Ferrari (#11 Gresini MotoE) and Jordi Torres (#81 Openbank Aspar Team), two previous World Cup champions, are participating in MotoE. Reigning champion, Swiss rider Dominique Aegerter, left MotoE for the Superbike World Championship. You can find further riders in the table below (as of May 2023).

Team Number Rider
Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE 3 Randy Krummenacher (CHE)
  4 Hector Garzo (ESP)
Felo Gresini MotoE 11 Matteo Ferrari (ITA)
  72 Alessio Finelle (ITA)
HP Pons Los40 29 Nicholas Spinelli (ITA)
  40 Mattia Casadei (ITA)
LCR E-Team 51 Eric Granado (BRA)
  77 Miquel Pons (ESP)
Ongetta Sic58 Squadracorse 21 Kevin Zannoni (ITA)
  34 Kevin Manfredi (ITA)
Openbank Aspar Team 6 Maria Herrera (ESP)
  81 Jordi Torres (ESP)
Prettl Pramac MotoE 23 Luca Salvadori (ITA)
  53 Tito Rabat (ESP)
RNF MotoE Team 8 Mika Perez (ESP)
  19 Andrea Mantovani (ITA)
Tech3 E-Racing 61 Alessandro Zaccone (ITA)
  78 Hikari Okubo (JPN)

Related News