Extreme E News

Extreme E Statistics: The best facts & figures from the 2023 Hydro X Prix in Scotland

Tobias Wirtz

Tobias Wirtz

This past weekend, the electric off-road series Extreme E contested its second X Prix of 2023. With this year's events being held as a double-header, there were two race winners, with X44 Vida Carbon and Veloce Racing taking the victories near the village of Sanquhar in southern Scotland. We have taken a close look at the Hydro X Prix 2023 and prepared all the interesting statistics.

Statistical features at the Hydro X Prix

  • X44 Vida Carbon Racing won a race in Extreme E for the third time on Saturday.
  • On Sunday, Veloce Racing celebrated its second race win in Extreme E history.
  • The dry  spell continues for Rosberg X Racing, with the team now having missed out on a win for six consecutive races across two seasons. Of the eight races prior, the team  had won five rounds.
  • Andretti Altawkilat scored the fifth podium in team history.
  • Carl Cox Racing scored the first podium in team history at the Hydro X Prix with a third-place finish on Saturday.
  • For McLaren, Sunday's second-place finish was the second time the team has taken part in the podium ceremony. Previously, this had only been the case at the 2022 Energy X Prix in Punta del Este.
  • Chip Ganassi Racing scored its second Extreme E podium on Sunday. Previously, the team had only participated in the victory ceremony at the 2022 Island X Prix, then even as the winner.
  • Rosberg X Racing and Chip Ganassi Racing reached the final for the fourth time in the fourth race of the season on Sunday.
  • JBXE, on the other hand, is the only team still without a final appearance this season.
  • Acciona Sainz won the "Continental Traction Challenge" for the second time after the season opener on Saturday. For Veloce Racing, it was the first victory in this classification on Sunday.

Continental Traction Challenge

The section of the track called "Continental Traction Challenge", where the fastest team can earn two additional championship points per race day, was again measured at the Hydro X Prix as a separate sector with its own timing in addition to the three usual track sectors. As in the previous season, the team with the fastest individual time in this sector did not win, but the best cumulative team time of both driver and rider counted.

In Scotland, Acciona Sainz prevailed in this section on Saturday and Veloce Racing on Sunday. Veloce driver Kevin Hansen posted the fastest individual time in the sector, just ahead of Acciona Sainz driver Mattias Ekström.

Best sector & lap times

The best regular sector times went to Acciona Sainz's Mattias Ekström, X44's Fraser McConnell and Veloce Racing's Kevin Hansen. However, the overall fastest lap at the Hydro X Prix was set by Andretti Altawkilat's Timmy Hansen. All of the fastest times in the event were set on Saturday - the track was significantly slower on the second day of racing than on Saturday due to rain.

The best times in the first section of the track were achieved exclusively on the laps without driver changes: The way through the "Switch Zone" with the applicable speed limit of 30 kph was significantly slower than the slightly further way across the race track.

Lap time comparison within teams

Comparisons of lap times between drivers of the same team are much easier than usual at the Hydro X Prix, as all drivers competed two laps each due to the rather short track. After the second lap, they had to enter the switch zone, where a speed limit of 30 kph applied. Therefore, we added up the best sector times of all drivers.

The figures show that in Scotland not a single woman was faster than her male teammate. Only Cristina Gutierrez came within a few fractions of a second of her teammate Fraser McConnell. Gutierrez was also by far the fastest female driver. Positions 1 to 6 were occupied by male drivers. On average, the men set a best time of 1:56.542 minutes, while the women clocked 2:00.960 minutes.

The biggest gap was between Timo Scheider and Christine GZ at Carl Cox Motorsport, who was also the slowest of all 20 racers. ABT Cupra's Nasser Al-Attiyah and Klara Andersson were unable to complete a full lap on Saturday due to accidents, and the track was much slower on Sunday due to rain.

Gender ranking

Who were the fastest men and the fastest women at the Hydro X Prix respectively? Based on their personal best sector times, we have calculated an overall lap time. Among the drivers, Mattias Ekström (Acciona Sainz) was unbeatable, while Cristina Gutierrez (X44 Vida Carbon Racing) was the fastest woman in Scotland

Ranking: Male drivers

Ranking: Female drivers

Cockpit swap in switch zone

An additional challenge in Extreme E is the driver swap. For safety reasons, the first racer must not undo their seat belts until the vehicle has come to a stop and is in neutral gear. At least 45 seconds must then elapse before the second driver is allowed to shift back into drive. The quickest cockpit swap at the Hydro X Prix was again achieved by the Veloce Racing team, but eight of the ten teams were within just over a second of each other.

Go back


Add a comment

What is the sum of 9 and 5?