Formula E

Time penalties for Hughes & Sette Camara: All Formula E penalties at the Monaco E-Prix at a glance

Tobias Wirtz

Tobias Wirtz

At the season highlight in Monaco, it is once again the task of the race stewards of the FIA to check compliance with the Technical and Sporting Regulations. In the event of an offence, they must decide on the penalty. As usual, you will find a list of all decisions made by the Formula E race stewards in this article.

Jean-Francois Calmes, David Fuentes and Filippo Lura will take on this task at the 2024 Monaco E-Prix. As in Misano, they will be supported by ex-racing driver Pedro Lamy, who has never competed in a Formula E race but has a lot of experience in GT and endurance racing.

Penalties before free practice

  • Chassis manufacturer Spark was fined €2,000 because an employee of the company was not wearing the mandatory orange wristband when working on Dan Ticktum's car on Thursday. This fine was suspended until the end of the season and the employee was also given a reprimand.

Decisions in free practice

  • McLaren was allowed to change drivers after the first free practice session due to "force majeure". Instead of Sam Bird, who suffered a hand injury in an accident in the 1st free practice session, Taylor Barnard is allowed to contest the rest of the race weekend instead.
  • Taylor Barnard was allowed to use a "joker" for a front tyre that was damaged in Sam Bird's accident in Free Practice 1. Each car has one of these jokers for front and rear tyres per season in order to be allowed to replace a damaged tyre.

Penalties in qualifying

  • Nico Müller's fastest lap time was cancelled because the torque measured at the rear wheels deviated from what must be delivered according to the homologated throttle pedal mapping. This is a technical offence that is usually caused by the electronics. Instead of starting from 13th on the grid, the Swiss driver has to start the race from 21st position.

Penalties during and after the race

  • Sergio Sette Camara received a five-second time penalty for causing a collision with Sebastien Buemi. However, this had no effect on the ERT driver in the overall standings and he remained in 18th place. The Brazilian also received a penalty point on his racing licence.
  • Jake Hughes also received a five-second time penalty for causing a collision with Nico Müller. Hughes dropped from 13th to 16th place and the McLaren driver also received a penalty point on his racing licence.
  • Jehan Daruvala subsequently received a 10-second stop-and-go penalty, which was converted into a 48-second time penalty. The Maserati driver had not activated the attack mode during the race. Instead of 19th, he was therefore classified 20th and last.

Go back


Add a comment

Please add 2 and 7.