Formula E

Grid penalties for Bird & di Grassi: All Formula E penalties at the Shanghai E-Prix at a glance

Tobias Wirtz

Tobias Wirtz

In Shanghai, as at every race, the race stewards of the FIA have the task of checking compliance with the Technical and Sporting Regulations. In the event of an offence, they must decide on the penalty. As usual, you will find a list of all decisions made by the Formula E race stewards in this article.

Gerd Ennser, Shi Huang and Achim Loth will take on this task at the 2024 Shanghai E-Prix. They will be supported by former racing driver Alex Yoong. Malaysian-born Yoong also spent two years in Formula 1 during his motorsport career, where he drove for the Minardi team.

Penalties during shakedown

  • Jake Dennis was fined 1,000 euros for drawing more than the maximum permitted 110 kW of energy from the battery on his third lap in Shakedown.
  • Jean-Eric Vergne was allowed to use one of his "joker tyres" for Shanghai. The DS Penske driver had suffered a rear puncture during shakedown.

Penalties during free practice on Friday and Saturday

  • Jehan Daruvala received a reprimand for disregarding the speed limit at the full-course yellow. This had already happened to him in Berlin, which means he now has two reprimands. Should he receive a third, he will be moved back ten positions on the grid.
  • Jean-Eric Vergne also received a reprimand for disregarding the 50 km/h speed limit during the full-course yellow, his first.
  • Norman Nato received a reprimand for not respectiong the speed limit during the full-course yellow, too. This is reprimand number 2 for the Andretti driver.
  • Dan Ticktum also received a reprimand for driving unnecessarily slowly in turn 11 during the second free practice session. This is the first reprimand of the season for the Briton.
  • Oliver Rowland has to pay a fine of 1,000 euros because he crossed the finish line after the time limit twice at the end of the 2nd free practice session and was shown the chequered flag.
  • Norman Nato received a fine of 1,500 euros because the charge level of his battery was only 4.7 per cent at the end of the 2nd free practice session. This was in breach of the instruction manual that battery manufacturer WAE had given the teams.
  • ERT received a fine of 1,000 euros because a mechanic had worked on the car of Sergio Sette Camara during the 2nd free practice session when it was in ready-to-move status. This is strictly forbidden for safety reasons.

Penalties during and after the race on Saturday

  • Max Günther was subsequently handed a ten-second time penalty for causing a collision with Edoardo Mortara. As a result, the Maserati driver dropped from 9th to 21st place. Sebastien Buemi and Stoffel Vandoorne benefited from this and were each awarded an additional point. Günther also received two penalty points on his racing licence.
  • Antonio Felix da Costa was subsequently handed a five-second time penalty for pushing Jean-Eric Vergne off the track on the final lap. As a result, the Porsche driver dropped from fifth to 18th place.
  • There was no penalty for Pascal Wehrlein: Although the Porsche driver had left the track in a duel with Mitch Evans in turn 11 and cut corners, the stewards accepted the statement that Wehrlein had wanted to avoid an accident with Evans.
  • Oliver Rowland was also not penalised: The Nissan driver collided with Jean-Eric Vergne at the exit of turn 4. DS Penske submitted a "request for review" of this situation after the race, following Rowland's comments about the fight with Vergne in an interview. However, the race stewards upheld the decision after questioning both drivers: the telemetry data and the onboard camera footage confirmed Rowland's statements that he had not intentionally steered to the left, but had instead slid over the curbs with the steering wheel turned. The car had swerved to the left when the tyres regained grip after driving over the curbs. There was no evidence of Rowland intentionally steering to the left. Rowland had referred to a different situation in turn 1 in his statement after the race.

Penalties during qualifying on Sunday

  • Dan Ticktum's best lap time in group qualifying was cancelled as the ERT driver had left the track at turn 11. The Briton was therefore classified 9th in his group instead of 7th. Jake Dennis and Jehan Daruvala therefore moved up two positions each on the grid.

Penalties during and after the race on Sunday

  • Sam Bird got a five places grid penalty for his next race. The McLaren driver had caused a collision with Nyck de Vries, which knocked the Mahindra driver out of the top 10. Bird also received two further penalty points on his racing licence.
  • Lucas di Grassi received a three places grid penalty for his next race for forcing Dan Ticktum in turn 12 off the track. Di Grassi also received a penalty point for this manouvre.
  • Jake Dennis received a reprimand for unnecessary rough behavior with Nico Müller, which resulted in an avoidable contact. We do not yet know how this differs from causing a collision.
  • Lucas di Grassi received another three places grid penalty for his next race for forcing Jehan Daruvala off the track in turn 6. The Brazilianalso received another penalty point.

Go back


Add a comment

Please calculate 4 plus 7.