Formula E

Dennis loses 10th place! All Formula E penalties at the Diriyah E-Prix at a glance

Tobias Wirtz

Tobias Wirtz

As at every E-Prix, it is the job of the race stewards of the FIA to check compliance with the Technical and Sporting Regulations in Diriyah. In the event of an offence, they must decide on a penalty. As usual, you will find a list of all the race stewards' decisions in this article.

At the Diriyah E-Prix, Hasan al Abdali, Mohamed Faisal al Hashmi and Achim Loth take on this task. They will be supported by ex-racing driver Yannick Dalmas, who drove in Formula 1 for several years and has a lot of experience in endurance racing. With four overall victories at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, which he achieved with four different brands (Peugeot, Porsche, McLaren and BMW), he is one of the most successful racing drivers at the endurance classic.

Penalties after the Mexico City E-Prix

  • Antonio Felix da Costa received a three places grid penalty for his next race after causing a collision with Nico Müller in Mexico. This penalty dropped him from 17th on the grid to 20th in Diriyah.

Penalties in free practice on thursday/friday

  • Norman Nato received a reprimand because he briefly exceeded the maximum permitted speed of 50 km/h while accelerating during the full-course yellow in free practice 1, but immediately braked again.

Penalties in free practice on Saturday

  • Stoffel Vandoorne was fined 900 euros for speeding in the pit lane. The 2022 Formula E World Champion was caught at 59 km/h, the maximum permitted speed is 50 km/h.

Penalties in Saturday qualifying

  • Sebastien Buemi's fastest lap time in qualifying was cancelled as the Envision driver had caused a red flag. This dropped him from 9th to 11th place on the grid. However, as Envision withdrew the car shortly after qualifying, the penalty for Buemi had no effect.

Penalties during and after the race on Saturday

  • Jake Dennis was subsequently handed a five-second time penalty for overtaking Mitch Evans under yellow flags. This penalty dropped him from 10th to twelfth place and cost him two points, as he also lost the bonus point for the fastest race lap in the top ten. This went to race winner Nick Cassidy instead.
  • Norman Nato also received a five-second time penalty after the race for passing Antonio Felix da Costa when yellow flags were waved. This had no effect on Nato, who retained his 16th place.
  • Sergio Sette Camara was the third driver that had five seconds added to his race time afterwards, as he also passed Antonio Felix da Costa when yellow flags were waved. The Brazilian therefore dropped behind his compatriot Lucas di Grassi and only finished 18th.

Go back


Add a comment

What is the sum of 4 and 1?