Formula E

Formula E: All penalties at the Tokyo E-Prix at a glance

Tim Neuhaus

Tim Neuhaus

As at every E-Prix, it is the task of the race stewards of the FIA in Tokyo to check compliance with the Technical and Sporting Regulations. In the event of an offence, they must decide on the penalty. As usual, you will find a list of all decisions made by the Formula E race stewards in this article.

At the Tokyo E-Prix 2024, Gerd Ennser, Achim Loth and Aguri Suzuki are taking on this task. They are supported by driver advisor Alexander Sims. Sims is no stranger to Formula E fans. He has driven cars from both BMW and Mahindra in the electric racing series. By the time he retired in 2022, the Briton had won one race and achieved three pole positions.

Penalties in free practice

  • Oliver Rowland received a fine of 1,300 euros for driving too fast in the pit lane. Instead of the permitted 50 km/h, the Briton was measured at 63 km/h.
  • Maximilian Günther was fined for speeding in the pit lane too. He received a 1,900 euros bill and one penalty point, as he drove at 69 km/h in the pit lane.
  • Jake Hughes was also fined for speeding in the pit lane. He was cruising at 68 km/h and therefore received a fine of 1,800 euros and a penalty point.

Penalties in qualifying

  • The fastest lap time of Nick Cassidy in group qualifying was cancelled due to an infringement of the homologated throttle pedal mapping. As a result, the New Zealander, who had actually qualified for the duel phase, was eliminated and will start from 19th place.
  • Sebastien Buemi was moved back three positions on the grid for impeding Lucas di Grassi in group qualifying. The Envision driver also received a penalty point on his racing licence. However, the penalty did not change the fact that the Swiss driver started the race from 21st place.
  • Mitch Evans was also moved down three positions on the starting grid for impeding Jake Hughes in group qualifying. Evans also received a penalty point. The penalty dropped him from sixth to ninth place.
  • The same penalty for Jake Hughes: Here too, he was relegated three positions as the McLaren driver had impeded Lucas di Grassi in group qualifying. Another penalty point was also imposed. Starting position 13 therefore became 16.
  • His team-mate Sam Bird was also moved down three places on the grid for impeding Jean-Eric Vergne in group qualifying. Bird also received a penalty point on his racing licence. Bird therefore started 22nd and last on the grid.

Penalties during and after the race

  • Norman Nato received a 5-second time penalty during the race as well as a penalty point for causing a collision with Robin Frijns. As a result, Nato dropped out of the points after crossing the finish line. This penalty was later cancelled after Andretti submitted a petition for review. Additional onboard footage, which was not available to the race stewards at the time of the decision, showed that Nato had driven on the racing line and had not pushed Frijns to the left. The scene was therefore interpreted as a racing incident.
  • Edoardo Mortara was disqualified after the race for consuming too much energy. As a result, the Swiss driver lost what could have been the first points in the World Championship for Mahindra.

  • Jaguar was fined 4,000 euros after the race because two of the team's VIP guests were in the area reserved for operational staff during the race and not in the separate spectator area. As there was no evidence that the two guests had worked there in any way, the race stewards left it at a fine.

Go back


Add a comment

Please add 5 and 1.