Formula E

Formula E: Antonio Felix da Costa wins absurd slipstream battle in Misano

Tobias Wirtz

Tobias Wirtz

Antonio Felix da Costa secured victory in Saturday's Formula E race in Misano. The Porsche driver relegated Oliver Rowland and Jake Dennis to second place. Pascal Wehrlein and Nick Cassidy, who had been in the top two positions in the overall standings before the race, were left without points after collisions.

Mitch Evans and Jean-Eric Vergne started the race from the front row, with Pascal Wehrlein and Nico Müller behind them. McLaren driver Jake Hughes, who had actually qualified for fourth place on the grid, was subsequently disqualified and had to start the race from the back of the grid together with Sergio Sette Camara.

Jake Dennis had already lost the rear end of his Andretti car on the way to the starting grid and the mechanics had to carry out repairs to the rear of the car. However, the reigning world champion was able to start from 17th on the grid as planned.

Mortara retires after just a few corners

There were already dozens of position changes on the first lap: Sebastien Buemi led after one lap ahead of Mitch Evans, Nick Cassidy was third. Edo Mortara was already out of contention at this point, having to park his car after just a few corners with a technical defect.

As expected, no driver wanted to take the lead, which meant that up to five drivers were racing side by side on the wide circuit. One of the big losers of the first laps was Nico Müller, who had already lost nine positions after three laps and was in 13th place. In contrast, Antonio Felix da Costa had already gained twelve positions and was in second place.

On the fifth lap, the first collision at the front of the field occurred: Cassidy overtook several cars on the outside before the chicane and moved to the inside, where he collided with Jean-Eric Vergne. Cassidy then had to come in for a pit stop with a defective front wing and dropped to the back of the field.

Pascal Wehrlein was hit shortly afterwards: the Porsche driver also made contact with Vergne's DS Penske and subsequently had to have a new front wing fitted. From then on, both Cassidy and Wehrlein trailed the field by around a minute. Race control investigated both incidents.

Penalty for Vergne, Günther takes off

At the halfway point of the race, Buemi led ahead of Felix da Costa, followed by Vergne, Rowland and Dennis. All 19 drivers who had not yet pitted were within 3.5 seconds of each other. Vergne received a five-second time penalty for causing the collision with Cassidy. Max Günther was forced off the track on the approach to the final corner and even took off. However, he was able to continue the race and finished in sixth place.

The energy levels showed that Antonio Felix da Costa had done the best up to this point. Sam Bird, on the other hand, was the third driver to pit - he suffered a rear left tyre puncture in a collision. He lost a complete lap.

Oliver Rowland, meanwhile, pushed past four drivers with a robust manoeuvre on the inside before the chicane. Norman Nato therefore had to skip the chicane and briefly lost several positions. Robin Frijns was another victim of the chaotic race: the Envision driver also had to make a pit stop.

Final spurt: Felix da Costa with clever tactics

The race became faster and faster, the lap times tumbled. Rowland took the lead, but had a clear energy deficit against Felix da Costa, who was driving in his slipstream. The ERT riders were also on the advance: after being at the back of the field for the entire race, they had already moved up to 7th and 8th position after 24 laps. Rowland picked up the pace, but Felix da Costa kept up with the Nissan. The Portuguese passed him on lap 27, but Rowland was not to be left behind.

However, a small gap had formed behind them to Vergne, who was being chased by Dennis and Günther. However, Sergio Sette Camara had the most energy in eighth place. Meanwhile, Nick Cassidy parked his car in the pit lane entrance.

Felix da Costa won the race ahead of Rowland and Vergne, who was penalised for the collision with Cassidy and therefore dropped back to seventh place. Jake Dennis benefited and finished third. Günther, Ticktum, Evans and Sette Camara took the next places. However, the Brazilian was subsequently handed a drive-through penalty for using too much power on the final lap and dropped back to 16th place. Behind Vergne, Nato, Vandoorne and Fenestraz completed the points positions.

Rowland now leads the overall standings after his fourth podium in a row, ahead of Dennis, Wehrlein, Cassidy and Günther. Among the teams, Jaguar continues to lead ahead of Porsche, but the gap has shrunk to three points. Andretti is still in third place.

Results & lap times

Championship standings (drivers & teams)

Go back


Add a comment

Please add 7 and 2.