Formula E

Formula E in Sao Paulo: Mitch Evans wins 1st free practice ahead of Jaguar team-mate Nick Cassidy

Timo Pape

Timo Pape

Mitch Evans won the first free practice session of Formula E in Sao Paulo. With his final attempt, he beat his Jaguar team-mate Nick Cassidy, who finished second. Edo Mortara in the Mahindra surprisingly finished third ahead of Dan Ticktum (ERT) and Pascal Wehrlein (Porsche).

First free practice on Friday evening began as usual with a full-course yellow practice, this time also as a serious test for replacement race director Oliver Grodowski. The track at the Anhembi Sambadrome had been largely resurfaced before the E-Prix - many of the bumps from the previous year had disappeared.

Dan Ticktum in the ERT caused the first braking incident. He drove straight ahead in turn 1 and skipped the chicane. After the first seven minutes, Pascal Wehrlein in the Porsche took the lead ahead of Sam Bird and Nick Cassidy. At the end of the first third, Mitch Evans moved into the lead, followed by the two DS Penske drivers Stoffen Vandoorne and Jean-Eric Vergne.

While champion Jake Dennis came into the pits to change tyres, Vandoorne - pole-sitter in Sao Paulo a year ago - set the next fastest time. However, the Belgian was still a good three seconds off the track record from 2023 (1:11.496 minutes; Antonio Felix da Costa). Behind him, Max Günther in the Maserati and Oliver Rowland for Nissan lined up at the halfway point of the session.

Battle of the "big cats"

The first 1:13 lap time came from Norman Nato after just over 20 minutes. However, his Andretti team-mate Dennis was two tenths of a second faster on his next attempt. Felix da Costa in the Porsche also pushed hard on the power pedal and skidded wildly around the corners. He finished less than a tenth of a second behind Dennis in second place, with Vergne faster than both seven minutes before the end.

Robin Frijns braked at the end of the back straight and had to turn his Envision around in the run-off area. Evans set the fastest sector times in the first and second sections and took the lead. Edoardo Mortara lined up behind him - a surprisingly good lap from the Mahindra driver! Then the final phase began and the teams prepared for their last fast attempts.

Ticktum initially improved to third place, but after 30 minutes Nick Cassidy - who had been completely unremarkable until then - took the lead. However, his Jaguar team-mate Evans was not to be denied and beat his compatriot by more than two tenths of a second (1:12.555 minutes) in the final attempt. Mortara remained third ahead of Ticktum and Wehrlein.

The second free practice session for the Sao Paulo E-Prix will take place on Saturday morning at 11:30 (CET) - to be followed via livestream on The race starts early on Saturday evening at 6 pm (CET).

Results & times

Overall standings (drivers & teams)

Go back


Add a comment

Please add 6 and 7.