Formula E

Overview: Which Formula E driver has how many penalty points before the Sunday race of the London E-Prix?

Tobias Wirtz

Tobias Wirtz

Similarly to road traffic, drivers that compete in the Formula E World Championship also receive points on their racing license if they do not comply with the rules. If a driver accumulates twelve penalty points within a year, a one-race ban is automatically imposed, according to the sporting regulations. After one year, a penalty point is automatically cancelled. We have documented which drivers are currently at risk of a race ban in the 2023 Formula E World Championship.

With this article, we will keep you up to date with the current status of the penalty points. Before the Sunday race at the 2023 Hankook London E-Prix, none of the regular drivers is yet close to a ban. The "front runner" is Sam Bird with nine points. The first points of the Briton will be removed right after the end of the season. "Second driver" is Nio 333 driver Dan Ticktum with eight points. Ticktum will have to wait an even longer time before the first penalty points are removed: The time will not come until January 2024.

Rene Rast follows with six points, ahead of Andre Lotterer and Pascal Wehrlein with five points each. Next are Formula E drop-out Oliver Askew and Sergio Sette Camara with four points each. Rast and Wehrlein will have to wait until next February before the first points are deducted, for Lotterer and Sette Camara this will be the case after the season finale.

World champion Stoffel Vandoorne (DS Penske), Sacha Fenestraz (Nissan), Nico Müller (ABT), David Beckmann (Andretti), Jake Hughes (McLaren) and Kelvin van der Linde (ABT) currently have no penalty points at all.

Note: This article will be updated regularly throughout the season.

Overview: Penalty points ahead of the 2023 London E-Prix, Sunday race

Points Driver Team in 2023 1st delete date
9 Sam Bird Jaguar 31.07.2023
8 Daniel Ticktum Nio 333 14.01.2024
6 Rene Rast McLaren 11.02.2024
5 Andre Lotterer Andretti 14.08.2023
5 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche 11.02.2024
4 Oliver Askew  -  31.07.2023
4 Sergio Sette Camara Nio 333 14.08.2023
3 Nyck de Vries  -  30.07.2023
3 Lucas di Grassi Mahindra 30.07.2023
3 Mitch Evans Jaguar 27.01.2024
3 Maximilian Günther Maserati 25.02.2024
3 Norman Nato Nissan 13.08.2023
2 Jake Dennis Andretti 14.08.2023
2 Antonio Felix da Costa Porsche 06.05.2024
2 Robin Frijns ABT 30.07.2023
2 Antonio Giovinazzi  -  30.07.2023
2 Roberto Merhi Mahindra 29.07.2024
2 Alex Sims  -  13.08.2023
1 Sebastien Buemi Envision 30.07.2023
1 Nick Cassidy Envision 16.07.2024
1 Edoardo Mortara Maserati 31.07.2023
1 Oliver Turvey  -  14.08.2023
1 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Penske 30.07.2023


Go back


Add a comment

Please calculate 3 plus 9.