Formula E

Rowland & Dennis on an equal footing at the top: The driver rating for the 2024 Misano E-Prix

Tim Neuhaus

Tim Neuhaus

The second double-header of the 2024 Formula E season did not please everyone. Many drivers in particular were critical of the peloton-style race format. Nevertheless, the final laps of the E-Prix were particularly exciting. Race winner Oliver Rowland and double runner-up Jake Dennis share the editorial crown in our assessment. Envision, on the other hand, has probably reached a new low.

After each round of the 2024 Formula E season, our editors award points on a scale between 1 and 10 for all drivers. They are then sorted according to their average rating score. The rating is based exclusively on driving performance, not the potential of the car or external circumstances.

1st Jake Dennis | Andretti | 9.2

Jake Dennis stands on the top step of the drivers' podium according to our driver rating. The trend from the last few races is pointing upwards. A third and two second places in the last three races are the consistency of a world champion. Dennis proved his racing intelligence in Misano and was able to put himself in the right position in both races. If you compare him to his team-mate, he seems to be maximising the performance of the Andretti package and is consequently level on points with Pascal Wehrlein at the top of the drivers' standings.

1st Oliver Rowland | Nissan | 9.2

Nissan and Oliver Rowland are getting better from race to race. After three podium finishes in a row, the Brit secured his first win of the season in Saturday's race. However, he was only able to celebrate his success much later, as the race winner Antonio Felix da Costa was disqualified a few hours after the race and the podium ceremony. The victory and his fourth podium in a row nevertheless gave him a well-deserved interim championship lead.

In the second race of the weekend, Rowland drove another flawless race. All signs pointed to the second win in a row. However, he then rolled out without energy shortly before the end. The reason for the debacle was a problem with the lap counter, which caused the system to count up one lap less than necessary. A bitter disappointment and an unfair punishment for perhaps the strongest driver in the field at the moment.

3rd Nico Müller | ABT Cupra | 8.6

What were the ups and downs in the final phase of Sunday's race? Nico Müller drove a flawless and strategically ingenious race and scored an important twelve points for the championship. The Swiss driver even almost managed to get the far inferior ABT car with Mahindra powertrain onto the podium. Misano was hopefully a confidence boost for Müller and ABT for the next races.

Qualifying was particularly good on both days. Twice he went into the duels and once even into the semi-finals. Then technical problems prevented the chance of a place in the final. The overall picture is clear: Nico Müller is the new team leader at ABT. So far, Lucas di Grassi has barely got his foot on the floor and was only lucky to collect his first point in Italy.

Flop of the E-Prix: Sebastien Buemi | Envision Racing | 2.6

Former Formula E champion Sebastien Buemi hasn't been able to show anything since the first race of the season. Too many incidents, poor qualifying and weak race pace are currently the only things that stand out for the Swiss driver - and Misano was no exception.

Envision Racing seems to be getting weaker from race to race. After the Misano E-Prix, the frustration and disappointment within the team is becoming more and more entrenched. For the racing team, which won the team title last season and now wants to defend it, four points in the last four races is a huge disaster. There seem to be many reasons for this. Our editor Svenja König has tried to unravel the problems in an article.

This is how the editors voted:
Pos. Driver ⌀-Points Timo Pape Tobias Wirtz Svenja König Tim Neuhaus Luca Storms
1 Oliver Rowland 9,2 9 9 10 10 8
2 Jake Dennis 9,2 9 9 9 10 9
3 Nico Müller 8,6 8 8 9 9 9
4 Pascal Wehrlein 8,0 8 8 8 8 8
5 Dan Ticktum 7,6 7 7 8 8 8
6 Jean-Eric Vergne 7,2 8 7 6 8 7
7 Antonio Felix da Costa 7,2 7 7 8 8 6
8 Sergio Sette Camara 7,2 7 8 7 7 7
9 Maximilian Günther 7,0 7 7 6 7 8
10 Nick Cassidy 7,0 6 7 7 7 8
11 Sacha Feneztraz 6,6 6 7 7 6 7
12 Jehan Daruvala 6,6 6 7 6 7 7
13 Mitch Evans 6,4 6 7 7 6 6
14 Jake Hughes 6,2 6 6 6 6 7
15 Norman Nato 6,2 5 7 7 6 6
16 Sam Bird 5,0 5 5 5 5 5
17 Stoffel Vandoorne 4,8 4 6 5 4 5
18 Lucas di Grassi 4,2 4 6 3 3 5
19 Edoardo Mortara 4,0 2 6 4 4 4
20 Robin Frijns 3,4 4 4 3 3 3
21 Sebastien Buemi 2,6 2 4 2 2 3
22 Nyck de Vries 2,4 2 3 2 2 3

Decisive in the event of a tie: higher individual score in the driver rating. Decisive in case of identical points: better race result

Go back


Add a comment

What is the sum of 7 and 6?