Short News

Cape Town E-Prix: All Formula E penalties at a glance

Tobias Wirtz

Tobias Wirtz

At the Formula E premiere in South Africa, too, it will be up to the race stewards of the FIA, the world governing body for automobiles, to monitor compliance with the Technical and Sporting Regulations. If there is a violation of the rules, it is their job to determine the penalty. In this article you will find, as usual, a list of all the decisions of the race commissioners.


At the Cape Town E-Prix, Loic Bacquelaine, Achim Loth and Steve Miller will take on this task. They will be supported by ex-racing driver Pedro Lamy, who has never competed in a Formula E race, but has a lot of experience in GT and endurance racing. Here you can find a list of all penalties at the Cape Town E-Prix and additionally the penalties from Hyderabad, which relate to the race in South Africa.

Penalties ahead of the Cape Town E-Prix

  • Sam Bird received a demotion penalty of five grid positions for the Cape Town race after the Hyderabad E-Prix for causing a collision with Mitch Evans. He also received two penalty points on his race license. Since Bird did not show up for the race after his qualifying accident, he will have to serve the penalty in Sao Paulo.
  • Rene Rast was also demoted three grid positions for Cape Town in Hyderabad for causing a collision with Jake Dennis. He was also credited with two penalty points on his race license.

Penalties in the shakedown

  • Sergio Sette Camara was fined 1,000 euros for using more than the maximum allowed 110 kW of power on the first lap during the shakedown.

Penalties in free practice

  • Oliver Rowland received a warning as the tire pressure on his Mahindra was below the prescribed minimum.

Penalties in qualifying

  • Jake Dennis was moved back three grid positions for interfering with Stoffel Vandoorne in qualifying. However, as the team could have informed him better, the race stewards refrained from awarding penalty points.

Penalties in and after the race

  • Mitch Evans received a drive-through penalty for using more than the maximum allowed 300 kW of power at the start.
  • Jake Dennis also received a drive-through penalty because the tire pressure of his front tires was below the minimum prescribed pressure.
  • Andre Lotterer received a five-second time penalty for failing to maintain the maximum distance from the car in front behind the safety car. The rules state that a car can keep a maximum distance of 10 car lengths. That penalty dropped him from seventh to ninth place.
  • Maximilian Günther subsequently received a drive-through penalty, which was converted into a demotion of three grid positions in the next race, for overtaking Sacha Fenestraz during the full-course yellow. The German also received two penalty points.
  • Pascal Wehrlein received a demotion of three grid positions in the next race for causing a collision with Sebastien Buemi on the first lap of the Cape Town E-Prix. Wehrlein also received a penalty point on his race license.

Go back


Add a comment

What is the sum of 5 and 6?